Academic Council

Term.- The term of the nominated members shall be three years ;
Meetings.- Academic Council shall meet at least twice a year.
Powers and Functions of the Academic Council.—–
The Academic Council shall have the following powers and functions:

  1. a) To scrutinize and approve the proposals with or without modifications of the Board of Studies with regard to course of study, academic regulations, curricula, syllabi and modifications. Thereof, instructional and evaluation arrangements, methods, procedures relevant thereto etc. Provided that where the Academic Council differs on any proposal, it will have to return the right to any matter for reconsideration to the Board of Studies concerned or reject it, after giving reasons to do so.
  2. To make regulations regarding the admission of students to different programmes of study in the college keeping in view the policy of the Government.
  3. To make regulations for sports, extra-curricular activities, and proper maintenance and functioning of the playgrounds and hostels.
  4. To recommend to the Board of Management proposals for institution of new programmes of study.
  5. To recommend to the Board of Management, scholarships, studentship, fellowships, prizes and medals, and to frame regulations for the award of the same.
  6. To advise to the Board of Management on suggestion(s) pertaining to academic affairs made by it.
  7. Perform such other functions as may be assigned by the Board of Management.


1PrincipalDr. R. S. PandeChairman
2Heads of DepartmentDr. M. S. Kadu, H.O.D., Civil EngineeringMember
3Dr. M. M. Gupta, H.O.D., Industrial EngineeringMember
4Dr. S. B. Bodkhe, H.O.D., Electrical EngineeringMember
5Dr. (Mrs.) M. Hasamnis, H.O.D., Electronics EngineeringMember
6Dr. D. J. Dahigaonkar, H.O.D., Electronics & Communication EngineeringMember
7Dr. A. J. Agrawal, H.O.D., Computer Science & EngineeringMember
8Dr. (Mrs.) P. Adane, H.O.D., Information TechnologyMember
9Dr. V. V. Shukla, H.O.D., Mechanical EngineeringMember
10Dr. (Mrs.) J. P. Kalambe, H. O. D., Biomedical Engineering 
11Dr. (Mrs.) P. S. Voditel, H.O.D., Computer Applications (MCA)Member
12Dr. R. Pais, H.O.D., Management Technology (MBA)Member
13Prof. (Mrs.) M. S. Patne, H.O.D., MathematicsMember
14Dr. R. U. Tiwari, H.O.D., PhysicsMember
15Dr. A. V. Bharti, H.O.D., ChemistryMember
16Dr. (Mrs) D. R. Mehra, H.O.D., HumanitiesMember
17Dr. Amit Anurag, H.O.D., Physical EducationMember
18Four senior teachers by rotationDr. R. N. Khapre, Associate Professor in Civil EngineeringMember
19Dr. Rajiv Khaire, Associate Professor in Management Technology(MBA)Member
20Dr. A. A. Agashe, Associate Professor in Management Technology(MBA)Member
21Dr. Y. M. Sonkhaskar, Assistant Professor in Mechanical EngineeringMember
22Four experts nominated by Board of Management from outside collegeDr. Dilip R. Peshwe, Professor, Dept. of Metallurgical & Materials Engineering, V.N.I.T., NagpurMember
23Dr. B. N. Chaudhari, Principal, Sardar Patel Institute of Technology, MumbaiMember
24Dr. A. A. Pathak Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Management, NagpurMember
25Mr. Arvind Kumar Center Head, Tata Consultancy Services, NagpurMember
26Three nominees of the R. T. M. Nagpur UniversityDr. S. S. Bhoga Professor, Department of Physics, RTMNU, NagpurMember
27Dr. Vivek Tatwawadi Principal, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar College of Engineering, NagpurMember
28Dr. S. S. Limaye Former Principal, RCOEM, NagpurMember
29Faculty member nominated by PrincipalDr. M. B. Chandak, Dean AcademicsMember Secretary

Dr. R. S. Pande
Chairman, Academic Council & Principal

Academic Council Minutes of Meeting

For Academic Council Minutes and Board of Studies Minutes of Meeting     See here