Dr. Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri

Member, Academic Advisory Board, RCOEM

Dr. Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri is an Indian inorganic chemist of international repute and Vice Chancellor of Tezpur University. He did his Ph.D from IIT, Kharagpur and Dr.rer.Nat. (Organometallic Chemistry) from Ruhr University, Germany. He is known for his studies on the synthesis of dioxygen complexes and fluorine compounds of metals and non metals. Council of Scientific and Industrial Research awarded him the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, one of the highest Indian science awards, in 1989 for his contributions to chemical sciences. He became an elected fellow of the Indian National Science Academy in 1991 and received P. Natrajan Endowment Award in 1998. He is a recipient of the Chemito Award (2002) and S. S. Sandhu Award of Indian Chemical Society (2005). He is also the recipient of Acharya P. C. Ray Memorial Award (2015) by Indian Chemical Society, D. Sc. (honoris causa) by Vidyasagar University, Distinguished Alumnus Award of IIT-Kharagpur, North-East Excellence Award on Environment (2009) by Indian Chamber of Commerce for his significant contribution in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Dr Chaudhuri, known for his honesty and sincerity, has been at the helm of many important administrative responsibilities and has worked rigorously to bring reformations in the approach towards research. Dr Chaudhuri is known as a man with a vision who strives hard to execute his mission to encourage quality education. Hence, Tezpur University won the Visitor’s “Best University Award 2016″ for its academic excellence and overall performance in the year 2015. Dr. Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri received this award on behalf of his university from the Hon’ble President Shri Pranab Mukherjee in a function organized in the Rashtrapati Bhawan.