Padma Vibhushan Dr. Anil Kakodkar

Chairman, Academic Advisory Board, RCOEM


Dr. Anil Kakodkar is a world renowned Indian nuclear scientist and mechanical engineer. He has worked for the development of the atomic energy programme in India throughout his professional life. He became the Director of BARC (1996) and was the Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Atomic Energy, during the years 2000 -2009. He has been a key contributor to India’s strategic programme and was among the chosen few involved in the first successful Peaceful Nuclear Explosion Experiment that India conducted on May 18, 1974 at Pokhran and played a key role in the series of successful Nuclear Tests conducted during May 1998, again at Pokhran. Kakodkar’s sterling leadership led to a significant boost to India’s nuclear power programme notwithstanding the uranium supply constraints. The comprehensive and robust programme under Kakodkar’s leadership has earned India a distinctive status as a country with advanced nuclear technology. Notable also are his i nnovat i ve cont r i but i ons t o human resource devel opment act i vi t i es l i ke establishment of NISER (National Institute of Science Education and Research), DAEMumbai University CBS (Centre for Basic Sciences) and HBNI (Homi Bhabha National Institute) that have resulted in a fresh wave of human resource development, generating greater experimental capabilities and bringing in linkage between basic research and technology development for the acceleration of India’s multifaceted atomic energy programme. He was also instrumental in the creation of the UGC-DAE Consortium, wherein the R&D facilities of DAE are made available to University students. India also demonstrated nuclear submarine powerpack technology under Kakodkar’s leadership. The world in general and India in particular has continued to recognize Dr. Kakodkar’s cause for scientific development. He has been conferred with more than 20 honorary D.Sc and D.Litt. He was awarded the Presidential Citation from American Nuclear Society, Padma Sri (1998), Padma Bhushan (1999) and Padma Vibhushan (2009). Dr Kakodkar is the current President, The National Academy of Sciences, India.